Shane E. Pendergrass

Shane E. Pendergrass
From Barbara Combs Lee Twitter feed


Current Position: State Delegate of Delegate for District 13 since 1995
Affiliation: Democrat
Former Position: Member, County Council, Howard County from 1986 – 1994

Member of House of Delegates since January 11, 1995. Chair, Health and Government Operations Committee, 2017- (member, 2003-; health insurance subcommittee, 2003-04; long-term care subcommittee, 2003-04; pharmaceuticals subcommittee, 2003-05; minority health disparities subcommittee, 2006; chair, health occupations subcommittee, 2005; chair, insurance subcommittee, 2005-17, member, 2004-17; member, health facilities & occupations subcommittee, 2007-14; estates & trusts subcommittee, 2015-17; vice-chair, 2007-17).

OnAir Post: Shane E. Pendergrass


Source: Government page

Born in Los Angeles, California. University of Illinois, B.F.A. (fine arts), cum laude, 1973, M.A. (fine arts), 1974.

Former art instructor, Aurora University; art therapist, Children’s Unit, Edgemont Hospital, 1977 (program coordinator); art teacher, Severn School. Outstanding Individual Award, The Arc of Howard County, 2000. Tera Partner Award for spearheading creation of Howard County Technology Incubator, Center for Business and Technology Development, 2000. Conservationist of the Year, Audubon Society of Central Maryland, 2001.

Hannah G. Solomon Award, Howard County Chapter, National Council of Jewish Women, 2001. Legislator of the Year, Maryland Cares, 2002. Senator James Clark Award for distinguished public service to the people of Columbia, Howard County Democratic Party, 2003. Outstanding Conservation Award, Audubon Society of Central Maryland, 2004, 2009, 2011, 2012. Legislative Sponsor Award, Maryland Children’s Action Network, 2005, 2006. Maryland’s Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2005. Eugene McCreary Award, Maryland Optometric Association, 2005. Advocacy Award, Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society, 2006. The Ruth Keeton Award for dedicated service to the Citizens of Howard County, Howard County Women’s Bar Association, 2007. Certificate of Appreciation, Howard County NAACP Youth Council, 2009. Public Policy Champion of the Year, Maryland Works, Inc., 2013. Leadership Award, Compassion & Choices, 2015. Leadership Award, Women Legislators of Maryland Foundation, 2017. Leadership Award, Health Care for All, 2018.


House Office Building,
Room 241
6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410) 841-3139,
Fax: (410) 841-3409

House Office Building,
Phone: (301) 858-3139 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3139
Fax: (301) 858-3409


Government Page


Source: none


OnAir membership is required. The lead Moderator for the discussions is Todd Gillette. We encourage civil, honest, and safe discourse. For more information on commenting and giving feedback, see our Comment Guidelines.

This is an open discussion on the contents of this post.

Home Forums Open Discussion

Viewing 0 reply threads
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Skip to toolbar